Valentine’s Letter

Dear Camille,

I’m not much of a Valentine’s person but seeing as we’re not seeing each other this Valentine’s day, I want you to read this letter.

Earlier today, a friend came to me for advice. Actually, she came to me to vent about her relationship problems. As you know, most of the time I just tune these things out; pretend I’m listening while giving out the usual nod and the obligatory it’s-gonna-be-fine speech. However, her story kind of made me think about us.

Unlike most relationships, ours started in a rough patch even before it began. We had to work things out even before we had anything to lose in the first place. Maybe it’s one of the reasons why we’re still together even with the distance between us.

I, like most men, am stupid regarding relationships: being insensitive, inconsiderate, and being less than effective in giving out emotional support. You, on the other hand, are the most patient person I have known. I know how hard it must be  for you to be with me. You’re not getting the kind of treatment a person of your stature deserves. For that, I’m sorry. But thankfully, you’re still hanging on  even if I think I don’t deserve the kind of trust and love you’re giving me.

I’m not promising that I won’t make any mistakes in the future. Promises tend to be forgotten. There will be times that we will hurt each other with some moronic things we may say or do. There will be more trials and hardships that we have to face in the future. I just hope you’re still holding my hand while we go through them. Because as long as you do, I will always be there with you like I’ve always been.

I love you.

Valentine’s Letter

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Letter

Leave a Reply

