Theory on Destiny

“Do you believe in destiny?”, I asked a friend. “It depends,” she answered, “if it’s in my favor, I do. If not, then I don’t.”

Many people have different theories or beliefs about destiny. Some think that everything “happens for a reason” and “we cannot fight what has been planned for us”, while some believe that since we’re supposed to be born with free will, we are not bound by the concept of fate.

From Greek mythology’s Oedipus to M. Night Shyamalan’s “Signs” (Joaquin Phoenix was a batter for a baseball team, Mel Gibson’s daughter leaves half-full glasses of water all around the house, and the aliens just happens to be vulnerable to… wait for it… water! WTF!), many people have been fascinated with the idea that things that are pre-planned. And the more we try to veer away from the things that are planned for us, the more we tend to face them.

Personally, I think destiny is somewhat real. I believe that we’re directed by something bigger than us (you can call it fate, destiny, hand of God, whatever) to the things we need to experience, people we have to meet, and situations we need to learn from, in order for us to achieve our purpose in life.

And I say directed because I believe that after we get to where we’re supposed to be, it’s still up to us to accept the experiences, connect with the people we have to meet, and try to learn from those situations.

So whatever shitty thing we’re going through right now, I’d still like to believe that there’s still something good underneath it all. That after all the dirt, you’d still be able to pick something that you can use in the future. It’s just up to us to decide if we want to wallow in our own misery or try to learn from it.

Like what  self-help author, success coach, and all-around huge guy Anthony Robbins said, “It is in your moments of decision that your destiny is shaped”.

Theory on Destiny

5 thoughts on “Theory on Destiny

  1. andreidae says:

    Great Concept Rowan!

    I missed reading your blog… more to come please.. It’s keeps me going.

    I myself believe in Destiny and whenever I got caught up with some mishaps, I always tell myself that “Everything does happen for a reason”. and It somehow makes me feel right.

  2. Like what self-help author, success coach, and all-around huge guy Anthony Robbins said, “It is in your moments of decision that your destiny is shaped”.


    Salamat sa blog entry na ito.

Leave a Reply

