Why I Studied French

Module 2 of French classes ended last Sunday. It was an absolutely amazing experience learning a foreign language, especially one as beautiful as French, being taught by an equally amazing professor.

When I first decided to learn French, I was thinking that it would be a great addition to my repertoire of skills if (and when) I decide to try to dabble in something new for my career. But when I think about it, it’s not really the reason why I fell in love with the language.

People in class have their own reasons why they enrolled in class. Being under the Spanish rule for nearly 400 years, and Spanish being one of the more “popular” languages there is, it’s really more practical for one to enroll in Spanish classes instead.

However, aside from being less popular (and more conyo. lol.), the ultimate reason that tilted my decision in studying French is this song. Bonus points if you know where this is from without Google-ing it.

To my classmates, à bientôt! Until the next module!

Why I Studied French

8 thoughts on “Why I Studied French

  1. andreidae says:

    wow! you really studied French? that’s so cool, an OST from the Disney movie Ratatouille isn’t it?

    missed reading your blog man. 🙂

  2. I wanna relearn the language but I’m also learning German at the moment so minsan nakaka-confuse haha. (ex. naiinterchange ko yung cinq sa fünf, weird diba?) Hopefully makapag-AFM din ako like you. 🙂

    1. ecoboy says:

      Wow! I heard German’s hard! You must be really good.:-) I think (since they’re around the same European region), several rules in grammar are the same so baka mas madalian ka once you’re finished with your German course.:-)

  3. derek says:

    hi ecoboy, i just wanna ask those 48 hours are just for 1 module? how many modules are there? and if i ride mrt to buendia, which jeepney would you advice to take? Your blog is awesome man. thanks for the info!

    1. ecoboy says:

      Sorry for the late reply. Yes, it’s just for 1 module. There are lots of modules man, but I think you can learn a lot by taking at least 5. Take the others if you want to take the proficiency exams. From Buendia MRT, ride a jeep going to LRT (Washington, I think) then go down at Mapua across Yamaha, from there you can walk to AFM, it’s near SPI Global. You can also check out their website to get more detailed information. Hope this helps. 🙂

  4. Jan-Michael Razote says:

    I’m gonna start studying at the AFM on October taking the A1 Module and your directions were a great help. I am excited at the same time kinda scared with the immersive technique employed the Alliance. How was your experience? I couldn’t find any review of the teaching at the AFM…

    1. ecoboy says:

      The entire experience was great. They approach the lessons practically, which means you’ll never hear anything but French from start to finish, and you’ll get to practice conversing with others in class. The instructors are amazing, making sure everyone are in the same pace. Enjoy your class, if it weren’t for my schedule, I would’ve continued with module 3.

      1. Jan-Michael Razote says:

        Thanks for the reply! Too bad you weren’t able to continue the course. I hope I can complete at least until the B2 Level so I can have a respectable DELF diploma. I even invested in buying a Bescherelle for all that verb conjugations and a Collins French Dictionary for the future. I just love anything French! Hope you can rejoin the AFM when your schedule allows it.

Leave a Reply

